Username:
Password:
Save PasswordRegister
Forgot Password / Username?
Home | Search | Chat | FAQ | Posting Rules

All Forums
 Mystery Shopping, Merchandising & Demo
 Mystery Shopping
 Revealing Social Security Number on Applications - Is it necessary?
 Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly

Author  Topic Next Topic  

Vera
Trainee

USA
7 Posts

Posted - 06/22/2003 :  09:38:49 AM
I am just getting started and am applying for as many companies as I can--trying to determine the reputable ones. It bothers me that some REQUIRE entering my social security number in their on-line apps. I don't mind giving it to them if they hire me and need it for payroll, but don't think it should be required on an initial application. I have sent e-mails to J. M. Ridgeway and atopshop.com asking if there is an alternative way to register but they have not responded.
Does this bother anybody else?

Vera

Cath
Star Contributor

USA
703 Posts

Posted - 06/22/2003 :  10:19:24 AM
Many of them do require it. They have tax laws that they need to follow and often need your tax ID in order to process 1099s etc. It is probably much easier and more effective for them to collect all the info that they need right up front rather than trying to get it from you later, if you should do an assignment.
You will find that you might register for a company today and may never get a job from them as they may not have any in your state. You may also find that you hear back right away and get assignments almost immediately.
You might not hear back from the firms regarding your concern of social security number right away. The person that responds to inquiries may only work during the week and not weekends.
Good luck with your mystery shopping. Keep good records before it catches up with you!

MSPA "Go To Shopper" 2006
MSPA Gold Certified, July 2003.
MSPA Gold Certified Shoppers Panel, Washington, DC, November 7, 2003.
Specializing in hotels, resorts and restaurants since 2002.
Go to Top of Page

AMSWayne

Aiea, HI
USA