Username:
Password:
Save PasswordRegister
Forgot Password / Username?
Home | Search | Chat | FAQ | Posting Rules

All Forums
 Mystery Shopping, Merchandising & Demo
 Mystery Shopping
 Is being MSPA Silver or Gold Certified Worth It?
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly

Previous Page | Next Page

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 36

HeatherN
Valued Contributor

New York
USA
142 Posts

Posted - 11/20/2005 :  4:54:14 PM  Reply  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by LindJorg

Okay...but again how do we know it is the MS company requiring the MSPA silver or gold certification vs. the client requesting that? I don't know but if the client is requesting it then I don't see the conflict.
Linda, when I was an editor, the clients didn't have a clue about MSPA certification and what it meant, even though I worked for MSPA companies. The clients didn't have access to the shopper information (just a number on the report) and the certification was only listed in the profile, not on the report. So how would a client verify if the shopper was certified or not? The shoppers' personal information is supposed to be that, personal. The clients' concern is getting a report that is completed within the guidelines, is well-written, and is submitted by the deadline.
quote:
Requesting a writing sample seems to be a much more practical and telling screening tool; certification status tells little about one's abilities.
AGREED!

Kim, I heard a rumor that one shopper failed but was allowed to retake the test and passed the second time. I believe a shopper has three attempts to pass. At a Gold conference I attended, I was told that no one had ever failed the test.
quote:
You couldn't just pay your money, fall asleep in the room, and pass the test.