Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Wendy South Hampton
Valued Contributor

South Hampton, NY
USA
132 Posts

Posted - 12/30/2005 :  12:04:17 PM  Reply  Reply with Quote
I am going to a pot luck type event. I hate going to these in general, especially when I don't really know the people, what they like or what they expect people to bring.

No one every seems to give any direction or guidance as to what they expect. I'm a good cook, I just do not want to bring something and people say "Look what SHE brought "

I just joined a social club and they seem to have many of these and they are intimidating to me.

I called the hostess to RSVP and mainly ask what to bring. She said "whatever you want." I insisted on some direction or guidance. She said "people bring all different things. some a lot, some a little. some cook, some buy."

She said she was not asking people what they were bringing. So, for all she knows 15 people are bringing deviled eggs. (I went to a pot luck BBQ at my home owners association this summer and 2 different people brought that.)

She did not say if there was a main course and we were bringing a side dish, or if everyone was bringing appetizers and we just have that.

And how much do I bring? Say I decided to make deviled eggs. Do I make 6, a dozen, 3 dozen? I figure I should bring the equivalent of what I personally am going to eat. Does that make sense?

I have a few ideas but wanted to see what you guys thought. There must be some regular pot luck goers here. Help me not be so scared of them.

Thanks,
Wendy

MargeI
Star Contributor

Middletown, MD
USA
900 Posts

Posted - 12/30/2005 :  12:48:39 PM  Reply  Reply with Quote
You need some idea of how many people are coming to the event. After all, if 90 people are coming, you don't need to bring 90 devilled eggs, but 6 would be a little silly, don't you think?

If you want to do something safe, I would suggest a layered dip with chips. Or a fruit platter. Or a tossed salad.