Volition.com Forums

Username:
Password:
Save PasswordRegister
Forgot Password / Username?
Home | Search | Chat | FAQ | Posting Rules

 All Forums
 Mystery Shopping, Merchandising & Demo
 Website, Email, Fax & Phone Problems
 Suspicious Email appearing to be from Sassie?
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RonMinNJ
Star Contributor

Burbank, CA
USA
395 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2011 :  12:57:55 AM  Send RonMinNJ an AOL message  Reply  Reply with Quote
I received the following email from: shopper_email_support@sassieshop.com

with the subject line: Your Mystery Shopping emails have been disabled (SASSIE, JobSlinger, etc)
The body of the email says:

Hello from SASSIE Mystery Shopping Systems!
You are receiving this one-time email because you are registered in one or more of the mystery shopping systems on our platform (including over 100 mystery shopping companies and services like JobSlinger and IC Pro).

After multiple attempts, we have been unable to reach you at this email address.

To comply with SPAM regulations, we have put your email address ("*******@aol.com") on our "DO NOT EMAIL" list.

To be removed from this list and start receiving emails again, click this link:

** here were a few links labeled Restart emails and stop Emails, along with the web address typed out**

If we receive no reply from you, we will simply leave you on our DO NOT EMAIL LIST.

SASSIE MYSTERY SHOPPING POSTMASTER
SurfMerchants LLC
41 West Street FL5
Boston MA 02111
617-292-8008

I am worried because although I did not click on the links, I did type the address in to my browser and it then said your email is now confirmed. However a few hours later I got another of the same email.

Has Sassie been hacked? Or is there a Snafu? Has any one else received one of these emails? Can we contact Jack? I sent an email to urgent@sassieshop.com, but they say that they will not respond to shoppers.

Class room trained and Silver certified with more than 1500 successfully completed shops since 1999!

PamInCa
Star Contributor

CA
USA
6477 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2011 :  11:08:09 AM  Visit PamInCa's Homepage  Reply  Reply with Quote
Another person I know with an AOL email address got this same message. I hope they post something and let everyone know.

PamInCa
Author of: "The Essential Guide to Mystery Shopping"
Go to Top of Page

DeniseT
Contributor

PA
USA
88 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  06:57:29 AM  Reply  Reply with Quote
I got the email and came here to find out if it is legit. I hope someone posts something official.

Denise
Go to Top of Page

KelliL
Valued Contributor

Placentia, CA
USA
149 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  10:07:38 AM  Reply  Reply with Quote
It came into my AOL box this am......waiting to hear if it is real before I click on any links.

Happily shopping in North Orange County.
Go to Top of Page

JackFromSassie
Valued Contributor

Boston, Massachusetts
USA
118 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  12:33:30 PM  Visit JackFromSassie's Homepage  Reply  Reply with Quote
Hi Folks, Jack from SASSIE is here.

We DID begin sending emails of this type, so if the link the email is asking you to click begins with "sassieshop.com", it IS legitimate and safe to click.

Here's why we're sending this:

Recently a major spam blocking service started blocking all email from SASSIE (regardless of whether the shoppers wanted the SASSIE emails or not) and causing some headaches for shoppers. One condition of them removing the block was that we institute a stricter "bounce detection" in our emails.

Now, if your mailbox rejects SASSIE emails too many times across too many days, we stop sending email to your address.

Then we let a few days pass (in some cases your email problems are temporary and get cleared up after a few days) and send this "Your Emails Have Been Disabled" email so you can easily turn your emails back on with just one click (we allow you to do this five times - after that our tech support needs to get involved).

Now, we HATE to turn anyone's email off but it's something we have to do to comply with federal regulations and to stay in the good graces of the spam blocking services that dominate much of the email traffic on the internet.

So, sorry for the inconvenience. It's a real shame that spammers make it hard for legitimate parties like SASSIE and mystery shoppers to do proper business with each other.

Hope that helps! Please let me know if there are other questions.

Jack
Go to Top of Page

Brigid
Member

Chicagoland, IL
USA
17 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  1:20:50 PM  Send Brigid an AOL message  Reply  Reply with Quote
Thank you, Jack! I have gotten at least six of these emails in the past few days. I just keep hitting the "confirm emails" link. I guess we just keep this up until the problem is resolved. :)

Brigid
Silver Certified by the MSPA #gx8y6e
Go to Top of Page

EmilyPWa
Valued Contributor

Willard, UT
USA
168 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  3:11:38 PM  Send EmilyPWa an AOL message  Reply  Reply with Quote
I am glad since I clicked on it without thinking it could be a scam. (I had received similar emails in the past) I have now received it 3 times.

Emily
Now shopping in the Ogden UT area
MSPA Gold Certified
Go to Top of Page

JackFromSassie
Valued Contributor

Boston, Massachusetts
USA
118 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2011 :  09:13:02 AM  Visit JackFromSassie's Homepage  Reply  Reply with Quote
Update: We've posted an FAQ to cover additional situations like :

* You have an AOL, Netscape or Compuserve (cs.com) email address

* You are repeatedly getting the " "Your Mystery Shopping emails have been disabled (SASSIE, JobSlinger, etc) " email

* You would like to get on our "Protected List" (which prevents your email from getting stopped)

* You've exceeded the 5 email restart limit

It's located at
http://marketing.sassieshop.com/sassieshopperemailfaq.php
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Volition ® Copyright © All rights reserved. Volition is a registered trademark of Volition.com LLC. Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.27 seconds. Software © Snitz Forums