Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

.Dawn DE
Inactive

DE
USA
518 Posts

Posted - 04/08/2007 :  09:23:55 AM  Reply  Reply with Quote
I have some experience with that franchise.Whoever did your taxes was WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. I don't know if they were just inexperienced, lazy, or what, but I would go back NOW and talk to a manager. Perhaps I will give them the benefit of the doubt and say that they were just trying to save you the cost of the Schedule C. It is (for Block customers) a very expensive form. I know many new business owners who have walked out after they have seen the bill.

Did you file this way or walk out? If they filed you this way, they owe you a free amendment and/or a refund. DEMAND IT. Make sure the manager or office coordinator puts you with someone with at least 2-3 seasons experience, and has experience with Schedule C's. If you get nowhere with the manager, find out where the district office is and complain to them. If it is a franchise (privately owned), complain directly to the owner. Threaten them with calling the IRS or Kansas City (that's the home office). They hate that.

Dawn
Go to Top of Page

ChadC

West Des Moines, IA
USA
19 Posts

Posted - 04/09/2007 :  9:27:05 PM  Reply  Reply with Quote
Cheri, I would agree with Dawn, UNLESS your income from MS was under $400. In that case it would just be 'other income'. But it sounds like you got a 1099, which would most likely indicate you got more than $600 from just one company. If that's the case and you don't file a Schedule C and SE, that would be a red flag to the IRS.
Go to Top of Page

.Dawn DE
Inactive

DE
USA
518 Posts

Posted - 04/10/2007 :  04:43:04 AM  Reply  Reply with Quote